SNP 2013 Winners

The Sarojini Naidu Prize 2013 for best reporting on women and Panchayati Raj was given at an award ceremony at the India International Centre Annexe on October 1, 2013. Thirty two elected women from 7 states of Bihar, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu and Uttarakhand arrived in New Delhi to felicitate the award winning journalists. Mrs Shobhana Bhartia, Chairperson and Editorial Director, The Hindustan Times Group was the Chief Guest for the occasion.

Guest of Honour, Ms Kamla Bhasin, noted feminist activist and Advisor to Sangat interacted with the elected women representatives to understand the successes and challenges of the elected women across the country. Some were Sarpanches, others ward members but they all belong to their Block Panch – Sarpanch Sangathans. The air was filled with slogans, the mood was victorious and women shared their experiences of leadership, none of which had come easily, instead they have had to struggle and strategize at every stage.

This year, forty four articles from a total entry of 1925 articles were short listed for the Sarojini Naidu Prize 2013 for best reporting on women and Panchayati Raj.

The Sarojini Naidu Prize, which includes a cash award of Rs. 2,00,000 and a citation for each journalist in the English, Hindi and Other Indian Language categories, was first awarded by The Hunger Project in 2001 and recognizes journalists for their reporting on the successes and achievements of elected women Panchayat leaders at the grassroots. The Prize winners of 2013 are:

Ms Naina JA

Category: English, for her article ‘Trash to Treasure, Kadaba GP Shows the Way’

Published In Deccan Herald, 10 June, 2013

Ms Khasti Bisht

Category: Hindi, for her article ‘Women Panchayat Representatives are Proving Themselves Better than their Male Counterparts’

Published In Uttar Ujala, 12 June 2013

Mr R Samban

Category: Other Indian Language ~Malayalam, for his article ‘Women’s Empowerment, Diversing Mofussils’  

Published in Yojana Monthly Magazine, May 2013

This year’s distinguished jury panel is chaired by Dr George Mathew, President, Institute of Social Sciences, New Delhi. The other jury members are: Ms Pamela Philipose, Director, Women’s Feature Service; Padma Shri Ms Urvashi Butalia, Director Zubaan; Mr AS Panneerselvan, Executive Director Panos South Asia; Dr Kumud Sharma, Chairperson, Centre for Women’s Development Studies; Mr Bhim Raskar, Director Program, RSCD Maharashtra

The Hunger Project works in 7 states in India to strengthen the leadership of elected women leaders in village Panchayats so as to enable them to practice good governance and demand rights & entitlements. The Hunger Project programmes focus on five essential elements: Strengthening Women’s Leadership; Mobilising Gram Sabhas; facilitating federations of elected women; promoting clean electoral processes during Panchayat elections; and Influencing Public Opinion through media partnerships.

For further information, please write to Eunice Thong at