SNP 2012 Winners

The Jury for the Sarojini Naidu Prize for Best Reporting on Women and Panchayati Raj in print media met on 12th September 2012, to select the Prize winners of the Twelfth Sarojini Naidu Prize in all three categories. From 1,259 articles been submitted for the Prize this year, the Winners for 12th Sarojini Naidu Prize are:

English category:
Ms. SANDHYA CHRISTABEL D’SOUZA for ‘Laila Ladies Ensure ‘Safety’ published in the Deccan Herald, Mangalore (June 2, 2012) 

Sandhya’s article highlights the contribution of an EWR Yashoda, from the Dakshina Kannada Zilla Panchayat. Yashoda initiated a sanitary napkin production unit aimed to raise awareness on menstrual hygiene. The article explores how this production unit has become an income generating venture from not only meeting demands of the locals, but demands from hospitals and schools aswell.

Hindi category:

Mr. DILIP BIDAWAT for ‘Samarda Panchayat- A symbol of Human Development’ published in Jalte Deep, Jodhpur (January 24, 2012)

Dilip is a Rajasthan based independent journalist who has been contributing to the field of journalism since 1990s. His article speaks of the challenges and enormous achievements of Sarpanch Tara Devi Baghela’s journey in local governance of the Samarda Panchayat of Bikaner district.

Other Indian Languages:

Ms. NANDITA DATTA for ‘Jharna Kapali- a Relentless Leader’ published in Aajker Fariyad, Agartala (May 27, 2012)

Nandita highlights the story of Jharna Kapali, a semi-literate woman who has helped transform her village as a leader.  Jharna has been using the MGNREGS to rejuvenate the barren mounts for cultivation in her village. Nandita’s article innately draws upon Jharna’s truly unrelenting people’s leadership skills.

Special Jury Citation:

Mr. UTTAM MALVIYA for ‘Half the Population bringing about Full Development’ published in Nav Duniya, Bhopal (April 9, 2012)

Uttam’s article discusses the achievements of women in the Panchayat of the Athner block of Betul. Their leadership qualities and relentless commitment towards the betterment of the village has been witnessed by development work like construction of water tanks, roads and educational infrastructure and facilities.

The Hunger Project will be hosting its 12th annual Sarojini Naidu Prize Ceremony on the 1st of October, 2012. The Honourable Minister of State with Independent Charge for Women and Child Development, Smt. Krishna Tirath has kindly consented to be the chief guest for the occasion and Ms. Gursharan Kaur, wife of the Prime Minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh along with Mr. Sreenivasan Jain, Managing Editor NDTV will be the Guests of Honour. The winners will be honoured with facilitations and awards during the ceremony on the 1st of October,2012 at the India International Centre, New Delhi.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s