Announcing SNP 2011

The Sarojini Naidu Prize instituted by The Hunger Project India was first awarded in 2001 to mark the beginning of a partnership with the print media. Given annually ‘For Best Reporting on Women and Panchayati Raj’, it was launched to promote and encourage sustained reporting in the media on the issue of women’s political participation in Panchayats and foster a positive environment that supports their leadership.

A decade has passed since the launch of the Prize. Extensive reporting bears testimony to the critical role women representatives are playing in the development of their villages. They are transforming local governance by sensitising the State on issues that had previously gone unattended like water, alcohol abuse, education, health, domestic violence, inequality and gender injustice. Active in all political processes, elected women are keen to lay the foundation of a clean, transparent, accountable, democratic, inclusive and violence-free institutions of local self-governance.

At every step the media has shown its support by archiving the achievements of the elected women representatives in the Indian Press, breaking myths, providing information, and encouraging the elected women on their chosen path. Media’s solidarity is slowly helping to change the cynical and patriarchal mindset of the Indian public with regard to women’s representation in Panchayati Raj Institutions.

In the tenth year of this partnership, the Sarojini Naidu Prize saw a record submission of 2122 articles from journalists all over the country. The prize has grown in stature and prestige. The writing too has matured as journalists continue to chronicle the progress of women’s participation in local democracy – a journey from reservation to participation and leadership over the last decade.

But the work is still not done.

Elected women leaders still need the support of the media to tell their journey of struggle and success, defeats and victories. It is only with the help of the media that they can advocate for policy changes, better social and political environment, and leave behind a legacy that will be emulated by the youth of the next decade and transform India in the years to come.

The Hunger Project is committed to partnering with the press to prominently report the success stories of these women leaders.

We look forward to the new phase of the Sarojini Naidu Prize as it steps into the next decade.

The Prize: CashPrize. Rupees Two Lakhs for each category.

The prize honours three journalists from the print media for outstanding reportage on Women and Panchayati Raj in Hindi, English and Other Indian Language categories

Deadline: The articles should reach The Hunger Project office in Delhi or any of our State offices latest by 15 June 2011. Please note that this date has been brought forward to 15 JUNE2011. Entries received after this date will not be considered.

Eligibility Criteria

All articles must be on the subject of Women and Panchayati Raj. Articles on only women or only Panchayati Raj shall not be considered.

The 2011 Prize is not theme based and is open to all positive reporting on Women and Panchayati Raj.

The Prize is open to all print journalists. Regional language publications are encouraged to apply.

The Prize is not open to employees of The Hunger Project and its partners.

All entries have to be published in a newspaper or a magazine between 16 July 2010 and 15 June 2011 (both dates inclusive).

All entries have to be accompanied with the copy of the published article clearly showing the name and date of the publication.

All entries should be accompanied with the name, short biography, address, email and phone number of the applicant.

All entries have to be accompanied with a declaration stating that the entry article is original and has not been plagiarized.

There is no word limit.

There is no limit to the number of articles that can be sent as entries as long as they meet all the above criteria.


Dr. George Mathew: Director | Institute of Social Sciences

Ms. Urvashi Butalia: Co-founder Kali for Women and Director, Zubaan

Ms. Mani Mala: Director | Media for Change

Ms. Pamela Philipose: Director | Women’s Feature Service

Dr. S. S. Meenakshisundaram: Executive Vice Chairman | MYRADA

Entries can be sent to the National Office, any of the state offices or emailed to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s